If you had the world’s greatest talents or abilities, but did not use them in acts of loving service, what good would they be? Lord, help us to love.

BibleGateway: 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

ESV Text: 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

1 Corinthians 13:1-3 (Listen)

The Way of Love

13:1 If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. (ESV)


KJV Text:

(Alt. audio): Chapter: 13

     1 Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. 2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing. 3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.(KJV)


Hymn: TLH 405:
I Gave my Life for Thee

Hymnary.org — Organ Audio

1. I gave My life for thee, 
My precious blood I shed, 
That thou might’st ransomed be 
And quickened from the dead. 
I gave My life for thee; 
What hast thou given for Me? 

2. I spent long years for thee 
In weariness and woe 
That an eternity 
Of joy thou mightest know. 
I spent long years for thee; 
Hast thou spent one for Me? 

3. My Father’s home of light, 
My rainbow-circled throne, 
I left for earthly night, 
For wanderings sad and lone. 
I left it all for thee; 
Hast thou left aught for Me? 

4. I suffered much for thee, 
More than My tongue may tell, 
Of bitterest agony, 
To rescue thee from hell. 
I suffered much for thee; 
What canst thou bear for Me? 

5. And I have brought to thee 
Down from My home above 
Salvation full and free, 
My pardon and My love. 
Great gifts I brought to thee; 
What hast thou brought to Me? 

6. Oh, let thy life be given, 
Thy years for Me be spent, 
World’s fetters all be riven, 
And joy with suffering blent! 
I gave Myself for thee: 
Give thou thyself to Me. 


