They were like sheep not having a shepherd.

BibleGateway: Mark 6:30-36

ESV Text: Mark 6:30-36


KJV Text:

The section starts at about 3:52 and ends at about 4:59

     30 And the apostles gathered themselves together unto Jesus, and told him all things, both what they had done, and what they had taught. 31 And he said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while: for there were many coming and going, and they had no leisure so much as to eat. 32 And they departed into a desert place by ship privately. 33 And the people saw them departing, and many knew him, and ran afoot thither out of all cities, and outwent them, and came together unto him. 34 And Jesus, when he came out, saw much people, and was moved with compassion toward them, because they were as sheep not having a shepherd: and he began to teach them many things. 35 And when the day was now far spent, his disciples came unto him, and said, This is a desert place, and now the time is far passed: 36 Send them away, that they may go into the country round about, and into the villages, and buy themselves bread: for they have nothing to eat.(KJV)


Hymn: TLH 426:
The Lord my Shepherd Is

— Organ Audio


1. The Lord my Shepherd is, 
I shall be well supplied. 
Since He is mine and I am His, 
What can I want beside? 

2. He leads me to the place 
Where heav’nly pasture grows, 
Where living waters gently pass 
And full salvation flows. 

3. If e’er I go astray, 
He doth my soul reclaim 
And guides me in His own right way 
For His most holy name. 

4. While He affords His aid, 
I cannot yield to fear; 
Though I should walk through death’s dark shade, 
My Shepherd’s with me there. 

5. Amid surrounding foes 
Thou dost my table spread; 
My cup with blessing overflows, 
And joy exults my head. 

6. The bounties of Thy love 
Shall crown my following days, 
Nor from Thy house will I remove 
Nor cease to speak Thy praise.